Long history

Competing for the world championship in speedway, at that time commonly known as Dirt Track, started already 77 years ago, in 1936. The first world champion was Lione van Praag from Australia. The individual world championship was settled in one world championship final until 1994.

In 1995 the FIM Speedway Grand Prix series was established. In 2014 there will be 12 events where the riders accumulate points for the world championship.

SGP in Tampere seasons 2014 - 2016

The Ratina Stadium in Tampere has been approved one of the hosts for SGP for the seasons 2104, 2015 and 2016. It is the first time Finland is the host for the world's most prestigious speedway event. The almost 400 metres long track offers the 15000 spectators splendid conditions to enjoy a great motor sport event.

Tough man-to-man fight - totally 23 thrilling races

The bikes with 500 cc engines producing almost 80 horsepower take today's gladiators in 23 four man heats round the track.

First 20 qualifying heats are raced, followed by two semi finals and one final heat, where the winner is crowned. In each heat the winner gets three points, second place gives two points and third place gives one point. Fourth place gives no points.

The points collected during the 20 first heats determines which riders qualify for the two semi finals, and the two first riders from each semi final go the final heat. The points collected during all twelve SGP meetings are added together and the rider with highest number of points is the world champion.



Track and seats